Where have I been?

·

4 min read

It has been 10 months and 2 weeks since my first and only post on this blog. You’re probably wondering where have I been. Am I still pursuing a career in technology? Yes, I am!

it has been a whirlwind journey, an exhilarating and uncomfortable one. I have been stretched out of my comfort zone in many areas throughout this season which I am grateful for since it has led me to learn a lot about myself and keep on growing.

What a journey it has been and it’s still going. So much transformation has happened over the last 10 months. Back in August, I was completing the Full Stack Developer career path course on Codecademy. Well, I have had to park that course since early October. It is all for a good reason though.

In late September I began completing the Introduction to Python & Apps course with Code First Girls. The course is a 2-hour, one evening lesson a week and it runs for 8 weeks. It was a great entry-level for a beginner with no exposure to coding at all. We covered the basics from variables, operators, for loops, functions and how to utilise APIs. Overall, I gained so much from committing one evening a week to learning a new skill and practising what we were taught independently. The homework activities were a great resource for getting feedback and learning the art of solving a problem by combining the concepts taught and researching for guidance online. In the end, I was able to create a Pokémon edition of the Top Trump game and present the technical project to the cohort. I was truly amazed by how much I had learned in a short space of time.

Okay, now let’s go back to early October while I was completing the Introduction to Python course. October last year was a busy month. During that time I was juggling life commitments, Code First Girls Intro to Python Course and bootcamp applications. I successfully got into the AWS re/Start cloud engineer bootcamp with Generation U.K. & Ireland. I began the programme in late October, a full-time 12-week intensive cloud computing programme. The first 8 weeks are focused on laying the foundation of the fundamental knowledge required to assimilate into the cloud engineer and Dev Ops work environment. We covered the following (below) topics before diving into AWS cloud practitioner content and exam preparation:

  • Introduction to cloud computing

  • Linux

  • Networking

  • Security

  • Python

  • Databases & MySQL

  • AWS cloud practitioner content

Throughout the course we were learning about AWS services and how it links to the key topic we were studying for the week. We gained practical skills navigating the AWS platform through guided Labs. We completed multiple projects from creating a VPC and connecting AWS Cloud Watch for stress testing load balancers to automating the process of retrieving financial data using a combination of AWS sever-less service Lambda, AWS event bridge and SNS.

We got employability training during the 12 weeks to prepare us for job applications and interviews. Post-programme, we have access to employability support, where we go over CV writing, and interview preparations and discuss topics such as imposter syndrome. It was a great way to reunite with classmates and get support on what we were struggling with collectively.

We were fortunate to have a two-week break during Christmas to recharge and rejuvenate. After 12 weeks of studying on the AWS re/Start programme, I successfully achieved the AWS cloud practitioner certificate on the 31st of January. This programme was a blessing, it showed me the benefits of learning in a collaborative environment. I was amazed at my ability to develop new skills in a short period of time. It was a challenging and worthwhile experience.

So what am I doing now?

After job hunting for 3 months, experiencing a few not yet I decided to reframe “nos” to not yet. Somehow the not yet makes me feel better about the situation rather than saying I was rejected. Thankfully, I got accepted into two software engineering training programmes. One of them is the CFG degree programme, which is a 4 days a week evening course that runs for 16 weeks. I have already completed 7 weeks. Juggling the two programmes will be a challenge & will stretch my abilities over the next 4 months.

We are all caught up for now. I will try my best to document my learning journey whilst completing both software engineering programmes.

Till next time.

Happy coding

Cynthia 👩🏽‍💻